Local Government Climate Strategy Panel

A Local Government Climate Strategy Panel has been set up to help lead, support and give strategic overview to decarbonisation work in local government. Working together, the Panel will share expertise, evidence and solutions to ensure investment, strategy and policy are as effective as possible.


The Panel met virtually for the first time during Wales Climate Week (2-6 November 2020) and continues to meet monthly. The Panel is working with Welsh Government to develop ambitious policies for Wales’ next Low Carbon Delivery Plan based on the priority areas for the public sector – procurement, buildings, transport and land use. The Plan is scheduled to be published in autumn 2021. 


Acknowledging there is already lots of good work underway, the Panel does not seek to duplicate existing groups and activity but to galvanise and accelerate change to tackle the climate emergency. The need to work together is a key aim for the Panel, so that authorities can share good practice and lessons learnt, as well as collaborating to reduce demands on resources.


Local government is uniquely placed to both lead by example and also increase public awareness of the scale and pace of change needed to meet the ambitious target of becoming net zero by 2030.


Who are the Panel members?

The Panel comprises representatives from local authorities across Wales who represent their region, members from Welsh Government, Welsh Local Government Association and trade union side along with technical experts. Whilst membership is not yet finalised, confirmed members to date are listed below:

Region representing Name Organisation
All Wales Tim Peppin (Chair) Director of Regeneration & Sustainable Development - WLGA
North Wales Iwan Davies Chief Executive - Conwy County Borough Council
North Wales Helen Vaughan-Evans Climate Change Programme Manager - Denbighshire County Council
North Wales Iolo McGregor Strategic Planning - Denbighshire County Council
Mid Wales Caroline Turner Chief Executive - Powys County Council
South West Wales Wendy Walters Chief Executive - Carmarthenshire County Council
South East Wales Richard Crook Director for Environment - Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council
South East Wales Chris Bradshaw Chief Executive - Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
South East Wales Rachel Jowitt Director for Environment - Torfaen County Borough Council
South East Wales Joanna Haycock Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council
All Wales Tegryn Jones National Parks
All Wales Clive Walmsley Natural Resources Wales
All Wales Prof. Carly McLachlan Manchester Cardiff University Centre for Climate & Social Transformations
All Wales John Howells Director Climate Change, Energy and Planning – Welsh Government
All Wales Reg Kilpatrick Director of Local Government – Welsh Government
All Wales Nicola Savage GMB

The Decarbonisation Strategy Panel was set up following a joint statement issued by the Partnership Council for Wales to ensure Wales’ ambition for the public sector to achieve net zero by 2030 is at the forefront of decision-making and post Covid recovery.


For further information contact: Tim Peppin


The Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) represents the interests of local government and promotes local democracy in Wales.

Tel : 02920 468680
Mail : enquiries@wlga.gov.uk
Business Hours : Mon - Thurs 8:30 - 5:00, Fri - 08:30 - 16:30